Spiced Honey Fruit Salad


In order to be a food blogger, you have to live in your senses: the world of taste, smell, touch. Me, I’ve been in my head a lot these days. I’m spending the summer cranking out my dissertation, day after day. Perhaps that’s why I feel so uninspired about this blog, or perhaps the dissertation is sucking all my writing energy, and I don’t have much left over for anything else. I’ll save you the impenetrably dull details, spare the fact that the other night, I dreamt that I was on a date with John Rawls. Apparently, it isn’t enough that I’ve been spending eight to ten hours a day with Professor Rawls for the past two weeks, now, I have to have dinner and drinks with him in my sleep? (No, I don’t know want to know what this says about my subconscious.)

Fortunately, I have a few friends that regularly drag me away from my desk and out of the house. Even more fortunately, these friends are really into potlucks, which forces me into the kitchen, back into my hands and my body. Is there anything more sensual than plunging a knife into a ripe cantaloupe? Grabbing a slippery mango to slice off its peel? And nothing is better on a summer evening that fruit salad with perfectly ripe fruit.

This salad is an invention of my mothers, combining a subtle kiss of warming spices (cloves, caramom, cinnamon, ginger) with the sweetness of summer fruits. It’s simply perfect.

Spiced Fruit Salad

Obviously, you can vary the fruits, but try to include one melon and one fruit from the stone category.

1/2 stick cinnamon
2 cloves
2 pods cardamom
pinch salt
honey to taste, start with 2 tbsp
1/2 c. fresh orange juice (used commercial in a pinch)

1 fragrant ripe cantaloupe
1 pint strawberries
1 ripe mango
1/2 pint raspberries or blackberries
1 peach
rind from 1/2 an orange
1 handful blanched almonds
1/2 c. crystallized ginger, chopped
small handful mint leaves
squeeze of lemon juice, to taste

In small saucepan, heat spices and salt with orange juice. Add honey. Bring to a boil and simmer 10 minutes. Add water if pan threatens to boil dry.

Chop fruit into bite sized pieces. Mix gently with almonds, mint and ginger. Add spiced honey and lemon. Taste and adjust for seasonings.

Source: My mom

6 Comments

Filed under gluten-free

6 responses to “Spiced Honey Fruit Salad

  1. That’s the most awesomely nerdy thing I’ve heard in a while!

  2. Subi Rajendra

    Tisha,

    Instead of water for the dressing you can use fresh orange juice to boil the spices and honey! Mom

  3. Ruchira

    Tisha,

    My neighbor just gave me a big bunch of mint leaves fresh from her mom’s garden. I plan to use some to make a fruit salad tonight following your recipe, but then I thought that if you are planning to post a new recipe soon, perhaps I could request one which uses mint leaves, fresh or cooked…

    Ruchira

  4. Hi Sarah, Thanks for stopping by. I’m discovering all the time that I’m more nerdy than I thought.

    Mom, I changed water to orange juice in the recipe. I was wondering why mine didn’t taste quite the same as yours.

    Hi Ruchira, My mint plant is unfortunately not producing very much due to my complete and total lack of a green thumb, but if I had a big bunch of mint at my disposal, I would probably make a coriander and mint chutney by blending fresh coriander, mint, lime juice, a bit of ginger and salt. I’ll think about some other mint options. You can always dry it and use the leaves for tea.

  5. Sounds fantastic – exactly what I’ve been looking for…can’t wait to go to the store and pick up some spices!

  6. slogg

    Lovely. Just made it (sans any berries and plus a shit-ton of grapefruit).

Leave a Reply

