Pickles, pickles, pickles

After spending an entire weekend in the kitchen, canning and pickling with my neighbor, Kassie, I am left with a renewed appreciation for the generations of women for whom canning was a survival skill, not, say a fun experiment. Peeling vegetables all day and sweating over a pot of acrid boiling vinegar is an uncomfortably hot and sticky experience even if you sign up for it voluntarily. Imagine rising at dawn to harvest vegetables, followed by a long, hot day in the kitchen without the benefits of air-conditioning (not that I have a/c) or even electric fans.

I am waiting to post pickle recipes until I have gathered empirical evidence that 1) our pickles won’t kill anyone, 2) our pickles won’t make anyone sick, 3) our pickles actually taste good. I’ll let you know in a month.

Until then, head over to Kassie’s blog to see the fruits of our labors.

Oh, and here is the box of tomatoes that we peeled:

Box of Tomatoes

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Pickles, pickles, pickles

  1. Ruchira

    the pickles and achaar look delicious! and the row of neatly sealed bottles make me feel quite nostalgic for my aunts’ kitchens…

  2. Claudia Sing

    Hi Tisha,

    Your blog is wonderful. My only complaint is that my stomach starts growling and I long to go home and try huevos rancheros! Your writing is so imaginative and descriptive. I think there is a really wonderful book in that gorgeous head of yours.

    Hope you are well.
    Claudia

  3. Hi Claudia and Ruchira,
    Thanks for your comments! Claudia, it’s good to hear from you. I hope you’re doing well too!

Leave a Reply

