Life after

Gordon's CupI’m back!

I’ve wanted to post so often over the past year.  But it turns out that writing a book while teaching full time is no small thing, and every time I thought about a post, I would guiltily think about all the things I could be doing to further my career: getting to bed early, writing, cleaning my office, grading, grading, grading…

So I put off announcing my time away, again and again, like I’ve put off so much in my life.  No more.

My dissertation has finally been submitted, I’m returning to Boston for my defense on Tuesday, and I’m finally ready to start post again.

I hope to have more fun, and frankly, more alcohol.  Even a glass of wine interferes with my sleep, and since I’m one of those irritating people who’s most productive in the mornings, I couldn’t risk insomnia that would cause me to miss my 6 am alarm.  So I became a teetotaler.  No more.  In fact, my summer goal is to turn into a complete souse, at least until September.

I’ve never been a fan of most mixed drinks: too sweet, too many additives, icky-tasting alcohol.  But this lovely, refreshing gin-and-cucumber concoction is different from the usual.  Tart, minty, and not too sweet, with crunchy bits of cucumber and a pinch of salt, it’s just the thing for long summer nights when one is finally, finally free.

Gordon’s Cup

Adapted from Orangette. I took Molly’s base recipe and added a sprig of mint and some soda water, which improves any drink, as far as I’m concerned.

Note: I am no mixologist, amateur or otherwise.

5-6 rounds of thinly sliced cucumber (I have been using skinny cukes from the farmer’s market. You may need less.)
1 sprig of mint
1 pinch salt
1/4 c. gin
2 tbsp. simple syrup
1/2 lime
soda water
ice

In the bottom of a glass, muddle cucumber slices, salt, and mint together. Top with gin, lime juice, and simple syrup. Stir and add ice. Top with soda water.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Life after

  1. I love reading an article that can make men and women think.
    Also, thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  2. I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and reporting!

    Keep up the very good works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

  3. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up
    the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.

  4. Usually I do not read article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do
    so! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thanks, quite nice article.

  5. Good site you have here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing
    like yours these days. I really appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

Leave a Reply

